How I killed Tasha Yar

If you don’t get the title, then you are definitely not a Trekkie (my nerd is showing).  I’ll explain.

Last night, I wanted to make chocolate covered frozen bananas.  I had one a couple of days ago from a local popcorn shop, and I was reminded of Bluth’s Frozen Bananas from Arrested Development.  It was so tasty!  It was $2!  Surely I could make this frozen treat at home for less!  I figured there are like three steps to making frozen bananas.  1. Melt chocolate 2. Dip bananas in chocolate 3. Freeze chocolate bananas.  But just in cases I googled it and found a foodnetwork.com recipe.  There are four steps: 1. Freeze banana with popsicle stick up its you know what for an hour. 2. Melt chocolate.  I never got to the other steps, because I messed up step two.  I followed the directions and put my chocolate in a double boiler with butter (the directions called for it!).  It started to get kind of fluffy not melty, so I switched to microwaving it.  I kept stirring and nuking this stuff.  Eventually, it liquefied, but there was an inch of clear liquid on top of the chocolate.  Weird.  Maybe that should have been a red flag.  The chocolate was also black.  So naturally, I got out the bananas and tried to spoon some of the ‘chocolate’ onto it.  The chocolate slid right off and started hissing.  Hmmm.  Spoon didn’t work, so I know!  I’ll shove the whole banana into the mix!  It started hissing and spitting.  IT STARTED HISSING AND SPITTING AND IT NEVER STOPPED.  That banana will never be the same, either.  I dumped it in the trash and went upstairs to warn my husband that it might ooze out of the trash like the sludge from Star Trek and kill us in the middle of the night.  Just like it killed Tasha Yar!  I created the monster!

I think I know what the problem was.  I bought chocolate flavored candy coating, and added butter.  I should have left out the butter, or bought real chocolate and added butter.

Today I trekked back to Kroger and bought real chocolate chips, and tonight we will be having a yummy dessert!  Below is the recipe that worked!

 

How to make chocolate covered bananas:

Ingredients:

4 bananas

12 oz. bag semi sweet chocolate chips

4 wooden skewers (or 8 popsicle sticks would work.  I just used what I had available.)

Wax paper (enough to cover a baking sheet)

OPTIONAL: 1 package chopped nuts (like for ice cream topping)

Directions:

Peel bananas, cut off ends (about 1/2 an inch), and cut in half.  Stick banana halves on sticks.  Line a baking sheet with wax paper, and put bananas on wax paper.  Freeze bananas for an hour.  Using a double boiler, melt chocolate chips and 1 1/2 TBS butter.  When good and melty, dip bananas one at a time in chocolate and use a spoon to help poor over the nanners.  Roll in nuts immediately after dipping and put back on the wax paper.  Freeze for about 10 minutes to harden the chocolate.  Don’t freeze too long, you don’t want freezer burned nanners!  After the second freezing, I put mine in a tupperware container in the fridge.

                                             

Click the link (thanks youtube!) to watch Tasha Yar’s death and the resemblance between my chocolate mess and the sludge that killed her! http://youtu.be/a9G3g8OSPBw

Leave a Reply

