Honey Do Fund Part One: Sprucing Up the House with Ikea

The husband and I recently sat down and made a budget (that we actually stuck to for a month)! After all the necessities were taken out, we had some money left over to play with. We divided it up into different “funds”, and one we added was what my husband calls the “Honey Do Fund”. Each month I have $200 for working on our house to spend how I choose. Since Damon is a contractor, he will do most of the work, but that doesn’t mean he doesn’t charge me for labor! After doing this stuff all day, he does not want to come home and work for free! The good news is that any money I pay him, he puts in our “Vacation Fund”.

So with my first month’s Honey Do money, I bought some different shelves and organizing things from Ikea. I bought a LACK shelf in white ($14.99), PORTIS Hat Rack in black ($19.99), and got two small AS IS shelves ($7.50).

I spray painted the two small shelves flat ‘Almond’ to put in the kitchen. The LACK shelf went in the bedroom to hold decorations (that the cat kept knocking off my bedside table). The hat rack is not for hats at all, but for lids in the kitchen! They were out of the shelf I really wanted for the kitchen when I discovered the PORTIS beauty (which I like WAY better!).

IKEA LACK wall shelf in white $19.99

IKEA PORTIS hat rack used for lids and pans

Small shelves for canisters and the green stand/holder I made!

The husband hung up all the shelves. (I said I could do it, but he said that push pins wouldn’t work, and he didn’t want our shit falling off the walls.) PORTIS and LACK were no problems! The two shelves I got on clearance were a problem. They were AS IS because they didn’t come with the hangy stuff (my technical terms). “No problem!” he said. Except, it seems, that there was not a stud to be found to anchor the top shelf, which meant a trip to Home Depot for some wall anchor screw things that pop open inside the wall, and, of course, lots of cursing. But my shelves are hung! And they look fabulous! And they won’t fall! And I am ever so pleased with myself for using a ‘hat rack’ in the kitchen! Now, there are no more lids cluttering up our pan cabinet! What a space saver!

Leave a Reply

