A New Home for My Earrings

A couple of years ago I made an earring holder from a grease strainer. I got the idea from a friend’s blog: http://www.kristenmcashan.com.  Ooh!  I also got the fabulous idea to get Walmart baskets and hot glue yarn words on to organize my stuff!  Take a gander below.

Grease Strainer Earring Holder with a little paint, yarn, ribbon, and jewels.

Baskets with yarn wording to organize my bathroom closet.

I made this basket for my bathroom counter with all the stuff I use daily.

I loved it! But soon my earrings outgrew the grease strainer. It was messing up the Feng Shui of my bedroom. I needed a new idea, and in swooped Pinterest. I was planning on creating my new fabric headboard this weekend, but being sick (again!) got in the way. The Pinterest link took me to http://iheartorganizing.blogspot.com/ where I found the idea to buy a decorative sheet metal piece. I put my own twist on it. I didn’t cut it at all. Instead, I had the hubby cut two pieces of 1 by 2s to go across the top and bottom to hold it away from the wall. I spray painted the wood with left over paint from my Ikea kitchen shelves. I hot glued the metal to the wood, and then I hot glued it all to the wall! I hung my earrings and found that this particular pattern is great to hook post back earrings through too! I just slide the back part through the larger scrolly part and slide down until it is secure into a narrower section!

Metal Sheet from Home Depot hot glued onto painted wood supports.

So much more space now!

Leave a comment